Can I Build My Own House in Florida? Costs and Considerations

Building your property can be a fantastic way to minimize charges while obtaining the home that you have usually wished. However, every state has a special established of tips in location relating to how you must assemble a property and what licenses are necessary. Several people surprise if they can create their personal house in Florida, and even though the reply is indeed, we advocate choosing a expert to do it. If you would like to understand all the information prior to producing a closing determination, keep reading as we include the regulations, costs, and other concerns.

Building a House in Florida

Florida Policy

Florida plan demands that a accredited contractor execute all design operate. Nevertheless, many exemptions apply, and Florida statute 489.103 outlines them, so it’s critical to study in excess of this doc cautiously. Let us consider a nearer seem at a handful of of the items that it says:

  • No license is required if you are doing federal or municipal work.
  • You will not need a license if you do small repairs.
  • An owner of a property can act as a contractor and build a single-family home, farm outbuilding, two-family residence, or even a commercial building if the cost does not exceed $75,000. However, you will need to apply for an exemption.
Can I Build My Own House in Florida? Costs and Considerations
Image Credit: Radovan1, Shutterstock

Applying for a License Exemption

If you want to be exempt from needing a contractor’s license to construct your property, you want to look to signal the developing permit software in particular person. You will also need to show that you totally comprehend the owner’s obligations under the legislation. Right here are a number of of the items that you have to know:

  • You must understand that state law requires a licensed contractor to do any construction, but you can apply to be exempt from that law.
  • You do not need to sign building permits unless you are responsible for the construction. If you hire a licensed contractor, they will assume responsibility and sign the required documents.
  • You must understand that you can protect yourself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor.
  • You understand that the exemption is only for one- and two-family homes, outbuildings, and commercial buildings costing less than $75,000.
  • The building must be for personal use, and you cannot sell or lease it within 1 year of construction.
  • You must be on site for the entire construction, providing direct supervision.
  • You understand that you cannot hire an unlicensed contractor to build or supervise, and it is your responsibility to ensure that all licensing is current.
  • You understand that you are liable for any injuries that might occur to you or any employees during construction. Your homeowner’s insurance may not cover these injuries, and you will need to sign a form confirming that you are aware of the insurance limitations.
  • Any unlicensed workers must be under your direct supervision, and you need to employ them. As an employer, you will need to follow the Federal Insurance Contributions Act, which means you will need to withhold income tax, contribute to social security, and provide worker compensation.
  • You agree that you are legally and financially responsible for constructing your home. You know and will follow all building codes, laws, ordinances, and zoning regulations.
  • You will also need to demonstrate that you have a good moral character with good credit, and you will need to pass a test on the technical aspects of construction. The test will also contain questions on laws and business practices.

Are There Any Reasons That I Shouldn’t Build My Home?

Regrettably, there are numerous motives that you may want to think about selecting a accredited contractor to do the function for you. The largest explanation is that you are economically accountable for any injuries that might arise. Even if your property insurance addresses an incident, assuming liability is extremely dangerous. Yet another difficulty is that it is unlikely that you will have the identical knowledge as a licensing contractor. Diy builders also usually absence the expertise to estimate the value of constructing and materials, which increases the chance of likely in excess of the $75,000 limit. They also typically lack the knowledge required to coordinate a undertaking, deal with a lot of men and women, and fully understand the legal guidelines that can influence the venture.


We suggest using a handful of additional times to consider about alternatives to creating your own property. It can be beneficial to locate other folks who tried a developing project and inquire about their encounter. Read over the regulations of Florida coverage and the Federal Insurance coverage Contributions Act to make certain that you realize almost everything and can comply. If these items don’t trouble you, implementing for the permit is not hard, and you will be capable to create your desire residence in Florida.

Featured Graphic Credit rating: Pixabay